Wayside Girl

This poem is part inspired and partly inspired the short story, What The Water Gave Me on my partner in crime (amongst other things) @weird_oo’s blog. Please read that too here . A good read, I promise!

WAYSIDE GIRL
My body is a weapon
My dress is it’s sheath
Shed at the slightest provocation
To fuel deviant infatuation

My sensuality is nuanced but sincere
For I naively hope that one day
One of them will swoop down
And free me of this despair

I see it in their eyes
This is their escape, their hidden vice
Some are monsters, some are nice
But all find solace in this lie

I feel so old here
My bones ache of lifetimes
They sing the rhythm of creaking beds
I’ve gone beyond what I could bear

As night swallows up the day
My nightmare begins again
One in a sea of faces on the way
My body to barter for grain.

2 thoughts on “Wayside Girl

Leave a Reply

