Pour Les Filles.

Maybe I am not as old as I think I am.
I play with my life and flirt with death.
I totter on the edge, half in half out sitting on the fence.
She was younger than me
Pretty and always introducing people to each other
She didn’t begrudge that her skin wasn’t fairer
Or that her health wasn’t better
She was just happy to be alive
I think i’ll remember that the most about her.
Until she left I didn’t realise how much I’d grown to like her

How open she was about herself in her own way
She touched my friends and through them me
And I know they’ll remember her, as will I
Beautiful girl, delicate as a snowflake on a warm morning
You melt too fast but your beauty is never forgotten.

– for Ogaga and Amina.

One thought on “Pour Les Filles.

Leave a Reply

